MCMCFC issues $9,000 in college scholarships around Michigan

MCMCFC issues $9,000 in college scholarships around Michigan

The Michigan County Medical Care Facilities Council, a coalition of 34 county-owned facilities across the state, has announced the recipients of its 2023 Gary Easton MCMCFC Scholarship Awards.

Nine people were chosen to receive $1,000 scholarships in 2023. Recipients must be enrolled in a health-related program and be an employee of a Medical Care Facility (MCF) or related to an employee.

“This program is an excellent example of the collaboration our organization promotes,” said Council Board President Shana Espinoza of Pleasant View MCF in Shiawassee County. “We are growing the next generation of health leaders in our state.”

In 1989, the Council established the “Michael B. Shira Memorial Scholarship Fund” at Ferris State University for students enrolled in their Health Care Administration Program. Since that time, we have given out $16,725 scholarship monies benefiting 30 students.

In May 1995, the Council signed a contract with the Grand Traverse Regional Foundation to establish a permanent scholarship endowment fund to assist with college education for the employees of member facilities or be their spouse or child.

In May 2000, the Council voted to fully fund this scholarship and decided to establish its own scholarship fund called the MCMCFC Scholarship Fund using the same criteria. In 2018, this fund was renamed the Gary Easton MCMCFC Scholarship fund.

Between these two scholarships, the Council has awarded nearly $190,000 in scholarship monies benefiting about 215 students.

This year’s recipients are:

Recipient Awarding Facility
Alyssa LaMaide Gogebic County MCF
Christie Edgren Marquette County MCF
Crystal Glave Allegan County MCC
Ivallee Ahrens Martha T. Berry MCF (Macomb County)
Christopher Shell Jackson County MCF
Katherine Twichel Bay Bluffs MCF (Emmet County)
Katrina Gangl Marquette County MCF
Stacy Thornton Jackson County MCF
Tristen Mann Lapeer County MCF